15
Dec
09

OF POPPIES AND PIGEONS

I think, it’s time to explain a little ,-or at least try and explain where my passion for the latter comes from…! I’ve loved poppies as long as i can think, though i guess, as i grow older i attach more meaning to them. Firstly, there is the color-RED- my favorite color. Though, the fact that such a fragile flower has such a vibrant color even if the petals are almost translucent, always made it more special to me then-lets say..a rose.

my actual arm :)

Then there is the fact, that once you cut a poppy and try to keep it alive in a vase, it will very soon just die on you…yet the same flower blossoms just fine on wasteland…!

And of course there is the opium…!

Not enough that a whole field of poppies looks strikingly beautiful, but it can actually kill you . Since when you stroll through it to long you will get sedated, at some point pass out and finally simply die of starvation…!

Yet also poppy seeds make a delicious ingredient in cake and on bread too ;)

But really,- having sung the praises to my favorite flower, i think, i’m just mostly drawn to it’s fragile beauty, since- all the other qualities left aside- a poppy to me is just beauty in perfection, and that needs no explaining….!

Last but not least, i suppose a lovely side effect to my little obsession has always been, that literarily  all of my friends and my family think of me whenever they come across a poppy, and that alone is a pretty nice thing too!!!

As for another very common image in my paintings -THE PIGEON-

I don’t actually recall, how that started. I think it was that poor little thing in the backyard of our salon. A pigeon with a broken wing, that i fed for about two weeks until i called the PSPBA to come and pick it up, as it just didn’t get any better :(

In the meantime however i had some interesting conversations about pigeons.

Generally spoken, i like pigeons. And as it is with all animals for me,..the uglier, the more i feel sorry for them and have some kind of fond feelings towards them because of it.

I mean, to be realistic, in the end it’s our fault that most of them look so scruffy in the first place. It’s all the pollution we cause. To me, pigeons are city birds and somewhat belong here, as it would look really weird if they wouldn’t be there anymore, just like the sparrow is gone over here already..!

Fair enough, they shit everywhere, and you will also have lots of people saying that you can catch diseases of them. Well, personally i never caught anything of a pigeon, so that’s a weird rumor as i don’t know anyone who has either…!

don't lick the pigeons ...:)

I find it rather amusing and actually quite heart warming to watch a group of pigeons sometimes, as they are so social and communal animals.

When that injured bird sat in our court yard, it would only ever eat, when other pigeons came to join it.

So, i still don’t know exactly why i use pigeons to express certain feelings in my paintings but they somehow seem fitting in my mind.

so there it is…my two red lines … i did try ;)


15 Responses to “OF POPPIES AND PIGEONS”


  1. 1 Safwaan Lunat
    March 13, 2011 at 11:48 pm

    You hand is so pretty

  2. 3 Miss T
    August 4, 2011 at 1:23 pm

    i share your love of poppies & the wrist is such a sensual place to have that tattoo. Good choice :) x

  3. 4 darline
    August 10, 2011 at 11:24 pm

    poppies are beautiful. I just discovered what they are due to my first aid class. Opium is actually derived from the poppy and then is used for types of narcotics like heroin!!! Such a beautiful yet deadly flower. : ) Im in love lol

  4. April 15, 2013 at 8:00 am

    Amazing! Its in fact remarkable piece of writing, I have got much clear
    idea regarding from this article.

  5. 6 Ona
    April 16, 2013 at 5:31 pm

    Heya i am for the primary time here. I found this board and
    I to find It truly useful & it helped me out much.
    I hope to give one thing back and help others like you helped me.

  6. April 16, 2013 at 5:34 pm

    Fabulous, what a weblog it is! This web site gives helpful information to us, keep it up.

  7. April 18, 2013 at 11:56 pm

    My brother suggested I may like this web site. He was entirely right.
    This put up actually made my day. You cann’t believe simply how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

  8. April 23, 2013 at 7:40 pm

    My spouse and I absolutely love your blog and find the
    majority of your post’s to be exactly what I’m looking for.
    can you offer guest writers to write content to suit your needs?
    I wouldn’t mind producing a post or elaborating on a few of the subjects you write regarding here. Again, awesome web site!

  9. April 25, 2013 at 8:19 am

    I do not drop a ton of remarks, however after reading through
    a few of the remarks on this page OF POPPIES AND PIGEONS
    | Jesswahls’s Blog. I actually do have 2 questions for you if you do not mind. Is it just me or does it look like like a few of these responses come across like they are coming from brain dead people? :-P And, if you are posting at additional online social sites, I’d like to keep up with anything new you have to post.
    Would you make a list of all of your shared pages like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter
    feed?

  10. April 25, 2013 at 11:06 am

    A person essentially lend a hand to make significantly articles I
    might state. This is the very first time I frequented your web page
    and thus far? I surprised with the research you made to
    make this particular post extraordinary. Excellent task!

  11. May 8, 2013 at 7:11 am

    Hi, I log on to your new stuff regularly. Your writing style is awesome, keep up the good work!

  12. June 2, 2013 at 5:39 pm

    I constantly emailed this webpage post page to all my contacts,
    because if like to read it after that my friends
    will too.

  13. June 4, 2013 at 8:46 am

    Greate post. Keep writing such kind of info on your blog.
    Im really impressed by your site.
    Hello there, You have performed a fantastic job.
    I will certainly digg it and personally recommend to my friends.
    I am sure they’ll be benefited from this website.

  14. June 19, 2013 at 8:47 am

    Thanks for one’s marvelous posting! I certainly enjoyed reading it, you will be a great author. I will make certain to bookmark your blog and will come back sometime soon. I want to encourage that you continue your great writing, have a nice weekend!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

