19
Dec
09

TATTOOS…. ANOTHER ONE OF MY PASSIONS!!!

One major change in my life -additionally to the breakup, the move, the living by myself again, was my growing interest in Tattoos.

I’ve always had a thing for body art, yet was to scared of the pain, and the permanence of the image.

Turning 25 last year and craving a big change or frankly something NEW , i finally went for what i was dreading so long. The image i knew for years. A poppy…of course!

Actually going to get it done was such a huge thing for me, and i didn’t want anybody with me there for that very reason. I went with many friends in the past to hold their hand etc. but this one i wanted to go through alone.

So i went. What can i say…the fact that i got it done on a place that normally doesn’t see the light of day very often, left me being everything- but alone 😉 In fact , the opposite was the case, as i attracted quite a little crowd that watched whilest i was laying basically pants down …

The artist of that piece is Steward Robson of Frith Street Tattoo in Soho

One of them was Craig. Craig’s a photographer for bands Tattoos etc, which wasn’t all that obvious right away, as i just assumed he’d be another Tattooist, judging by the vast amount of body art that adorns his body. You should check out his myspace page below !!!

http://www.myspace.com/burtoncraig

He’s one of those strange individuals that i have been drawn to and inspired by my whole life.So far, i only ever did a drawing , but i’m sure that one day he’ll also end up being a subject of one of my paintings, as he is just to interesting a person, to not paint him !

Craig...

So that was Tattoo no 1, of which i will actually not put any pics up here…:)

Tattoo number 2 Was the poppy  and shaded stars on my wrist, created by Lianne Moule of Flamin 8

I love this one a lot, as it’s the one i see most of the time, and it’s just so beautifully crafted!!!!Now that wasn’t all for that year, as my little new found addiction just so started to blossom and november came, and Tattoo no 3 with that…

The idea to that i simply got of a photo, which i then drew, gave to Lianne and then got it tattooed on my neck, where i still always admire it when i  put my hair up.

Those ones are only the beginning of a vast growing collection over my body. Having  Tattoo’s, especially those one on public display often makes me talk about them too, as simply people would approach me about them. Mostly because they find them rather unusual, as they don’t actually typecast me into any kind of scene.  I believe that the reason for that would be the fine artistic skill with which they have been inked into my skin.

Also very often people tell me that they would like a Tattoo but are to scared to get one because of similar or even the same reasons that i delayed my first one for so long. Now there are a few things i’d like to say to that subject:

Firstly…. i think it’s the smarter way, to find an image first, than research about Tattooists that have the style i am looking for, since-don’t forget or underestimate- Tattooists are very talented artists that have their very unique and own style. You wouldn’t ever go to Dali and tell him to paint a Picasso for you, that just wouldn’t be very smart at all, and is also -in my opinion- disrespectful to the artists own style!

Once you found one go there with your ideas and maybe even drafts or pictures and talk to them thoroughly. If they are good, they will make it pretty easy for you to understand what’s possible and what not. Listen to them as they are the pro’s!!!

I always have my own idea, and research for a particular style that i like, but i also like the artist to give it their own identity and twist by drawing it up themselves, as that way everyone is happy in the end!!

I have been really happy about each and every Tattoo i have gotten so far and as mentioned before, the collection is steady growing.

My last edition has been created by Joao Bosco of Self Sacrifice

Those guys are really cool and very helpful and friendly. They have also just moved adress to Wardour street in Soho, just opposite pret a manger, but i will find out the exact adress later and update it!

Joao isn’t just a very talented Tattooist, but also a bloody good laugh! He sweetens up the sessions with a spot of singing which is always good fun. The piece of art he created so far on my leg is the biggest tattoo i have yet , and will continue to grow up the whole of my left side at some point. I have to say i am rather looking forward to it!

Summing up my experience with Tattoos so far i have to conclude one thing, and i even convinced my own grandmother with that argument.

If you get a Tattoo, look at it as if you are getting married to somebody. It will be for life and if you want to get rid of it, the consequences will be rather painful and expensive and it will always leave a mark on you 😉

you are more than welcome to quote me on that one 🙂

This section of my blog will surely expand as will by own body art, though for now this is all i have to say! Enjoy and feel free to share thoughts about it!


1 Response to “TATTOOS…. ANOTHER ONE OF MY PASSIONS!!!”


  1. December 29, 2009 at 10:46 pm

    Jessi, LOVE your blog a lot and can´t wait for more input from you. As a matter of fact I feel more inspired and motivated to get my tattoo done, now that I have read your comments on this matter. I could still use some help with the design… 😉 XXX A.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers


